2002 National Mobility Agreement Of The Federation Of Law Societies Of Canada

If you are eligible for mobility without authorization and you come from a jurisdiction that has not signed and implemented the National Mobility Agreement, you may only do so in Ontario occasionally, in accordance with Part VII of Statutes 4: Occasional Exercise of Law 12 – 10 – 20 ss. 46-52. According to the association`s website, the temporary agreement requires that lawyers “civil liability insurance and protection against disbelief and not ongoing criminal or disciplinary proceedings, no disciplinary act and no restriction or restriction of the right to the exercise of legal practice may provide legal services in or with respect to the law of a mutual jurisdiction for a maximum period of 100 days in a calendar year, without permission. They are not required to notify the host lawyers` firm that they are temporarily providing legal services in or with respect to the law of that jurisdiction. Lawyers who are not allowed to travel without permission may apply for permission.┬áThe Federation of Law Societies of Canada (Federation of Law Societies of Canada) is the national coordinating body for Canada`s 14 law societies. In 2002, under the auspices of the Federation of Law Businesses of Canada, the National Mobility Agreement was created, which establishes permanent and temporary mobility agreements between provinces. Until 2006, the nine common law provinces had implemented the agreement. Although Quebec signed it, it did not implement it. In November 2006, the three territorial corporations (Northwest Territories of Nunavut and Yukon) and all signatories to the National Mobility Agreement signed the Territorial Mobility Agreement. Under this agreement, the signatories agreed that territorial companies, as mutual management bodies, will participate in national mobility with regard to permanent mobility (transfer of lawyers from one jurisdiction to another), without being obliged to participate in the provisions on temporary mobility. This diet can last up to five years.

The TMA expires on 1 January 2012 and the signatories are no longer bound and no longer have any rights under the territorial mobility agreement. The right of access to the law was invoked by the Montreal Declaration. . . .

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.